The Mac Trackpad App Market in 2026
A source-linked survey of 29 apps: what they cost, what macOS they need, which ones are edge-first, and which ones are really automation platforms. We make TrackStudio, so it is included as one entry, not ranked first.
The short version
- The market has split into four layers: broad automation platforms, focused gesture apps, edge-first sliders, and a fast-growing free/open-source tier.
- Edge-first apps are the biggest change of 2026. Slidr, Haptiker, EdgeBar, Glisse, HaptiTrack, EdgeControl, and EdgePad turn the left and right edges into volume and brightness controls, often for $5 or less.
- BetterTouchTool remains the widest automation platform. Multitouch is the deepest gesture toolbox. Mactomator is the broadest mixed-desk utility. None of them is a visual whole-surface editor in the way TrackStudio is.
- Prices run from free to about $30 one-time. Several paid apps sit between $4.99 and $16. The expensive apps usually bundle window management, scripting, or a larger input platform.
- Most current apps require macOS 13 or later. Several require macOS 14 or 15. Jitouch has an older Intel-only build and has been frozen since January 2023.
- The free tier is real, but the trade-offs are real too. Open-source apps are auditable; some are unsigned, not notarized, and may reset permissions after updates.
- Middle-click is its own niche. WheelClick, The Mid Click, MidClick, Middle, and MiddleClick solve one job and should be compared on that job, not on whole-surface features.
The four layers
1. Broad automation platforms
BetterTouchTool, Multitouch, and Mactomator are platforms. They cover gestures, keyboard shortcuts, mouse buttons, scripts, window management, and sometimes Stream Deck or per-device triggers. They are the right choice when you want one app to own every input device on the desk.
The trade-off is configuration. A simple gesture is easy; a carefully layered per-app system is an evening of work. TrackStudio does not compete with them on breadth. It competes on the visual surface: edges, corners, areas, center gestures, and per-app scenes in one editor.
2. Focused gesture apps
GestureCraft, Curflow, thePadToo, MagicPrefs, TouchBridge, and Trill are narrower. They map gestures to actions, sometimes with keyboard or mouse triggers, and they usually cost less than the platforms. The differences are in the trigger model: sentence-like rules, drawn gestures, recorded gestures, a 48-gesture catalogue, or ready-made sets.
This is the most crowded layer. The right question is not “which has the most gestures” but “which trigger model will I actually remember?”
3. Edge-first sliders
Slidr, Haptiker, EdgeBar, Glisse, HaptiTrack, EdgeControl, and EdgePad turn the trackpad edge into a control strip. Volume and brightness are the core; some add keyboard backlight, app switching, media scrub, microphone gain, or Night Shift.
This layer is cheap, simple, and increasingly free. If you only want volume and brightness on the edges, buy an edge-first app. TrackStudio includes edges but is a whole-surface app; it is not the cheapest way to get two sliders.
4. Free/open-source tier
Jitouch, StrokeMouse, Tapestry, Glisse, HaptiTrack, EdgeControl, EdgePad, Sleight, and MiddleClick are free or open source. They are a real alternative to paid apps, especially for a single job. Check the last release date, signing status, and permission model before you rely on one.
The market table
Prices are in the vendor’s currency and exclude taxes. “Not stated” means the vendor does not publish the fact. This table is a starting point, not a buying decision; the comparison pages go deeper.
| App | Layer | Price | Trial | macOS | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BetterTouchTool | Automation | $15 / $25 lifetime | 45 days | 12+ | Active |
| Multitouch | Automation | $15.99 | 30 days | 14+ | Active |
| Swish | Window | $16 | 14 days | 12+ | Active |
| GestureCraft | Focused | $7.99 | 14-day refund | 14+ | Active |
| Curflow | Focused | $15.99 / $29.99 | 14 days | 14+ | Active |
| Trill | Focused | $29 | 24 hours | 14+ | Active |
| Mactomator | Automation | €4.99 / €39.99 | 30 days | 13+ | Active |
| thePadToo | Focused | $7.99 | 7 days | 14.6+ | Active |
| MagicPrefs | Focused | £26 / 2 years | 7 days | 15+ | Active |
| TouchBridge | Focused | $2.90 | 14 days | 13+ | Active |
| Slidr | Edge | $4.99 | 3 days | 12+ | Active |
| Haptiker | Edge | $4.99 / $7.99 | 7 days | 12+ | Active |
| EdgeBar | Edge | $5 | Not stated | 13+ | Active |
| Glisse | Edge / free | Free | None needed | 13+ | Active |
| HaptiTrack | Edge / free | Free | None needed | 14+ | Active |
| EdgeControl | Edge / free | Free | None needed | 13+ | Experimental |
| EdgePad | Edge / free | Free | None needed | 13+ | Active |
| Sleight | Gesture / free | Free | None needed | 14+ | Active |
| StrokeMouse | Gesture / free | Free | None needed | 14+ | Active |
| Tapestry | Gesture / free | Free | None needed | 15+ | Active |
| Jitouch | Gesture / free | Free | None needed | 10.13+ | Frozen 2023 |
| WheelClick | Middle click | $4.99 | 14 days | 12+ | Active |
| The Mid Click | Middle click | $1/year / $10 lifetime | 7 days | 13.3+ | Active |
| MidClick | Middle click | $3.99 | 14 days of use | 13+ | Active |
| Middle | Middle click | $7.99 | 7 days | 10.15+ | Active |
| MiddleClick | Middle click / free | Free | None needed | 12+ (verify) | Finished |
| CoolTouch | Touchscreen | $19 | 14-day refund | 14+ | Active |
| Trackpad++ | Windows | Donationware | None needed | Windows 7–11 | Active |
| TrackStudio | Whole surface | ₹499 | No trial listed | 13+ | Active |
29 apps. Prices, trials, and macOS requirements checked on vendor pages on November 2, 2026. Regional pricing, taxes, and requirements vary. “Not stated” means the vendor does not publish the fact.
Edge-first vs whole-surface
The edge category is the most important change of 2026. A few years ago, custom edge gestures meant building them yourself in BetterTouchTool. Now there are dedicated apps with native HUDs, haptics, external-display support, and prices below $5.
If you only want volume and brightness on the edges, buy an edge-first app. Slidr is the most established paid option. Haptiker adds keyboard backlight and app switching. EdgeBar is a cheaper edge + media utility. Glisse is the best free starting point.
If you want the whole trackpad, compare whole-surface apps. TrackStudio has edges, corners, custom areas, center gestures, per-app scenes, and media scrub. BetterTouchTool can build a surface but is an automation platform first. TouchBridge has a large gesture catalogue but not a visual scene editor. Trill has ready-made sets and edge slides but is not a full region editor.
Free and open source
The free tier is not a footnote anymore. Glisse, HaptiTrack, EdgeControl, EdgePad, StrokeMouse, Tapestry, Sleight, Jitouch, and MiddleClick cover real jobs. The trade-offs are support, signing, and maintenance:
- Glisse is ad-hoc signed, not notarized. Accessibility permission resets on upgrade. External DDC was written but not verified by the developer on a second display.
- HaptiTrack is a first release, unsigned, and needs both Accessibility and Input Monitoring.
- EdgeControl is explicitly experimental. It was validated on macOS 26.5 on Apple silicon; Intel and external trackpads are untested.
- EdgePad is ad-hoc signed. Its media scrub depends on the focused player responding to arrow-key seeks or supported media commands.
- Jitouch is frozen. The official build is Intel-only, and it has not had a release since January 2023.
None of that makes them bad. It makes them a different purchase: you are trading money for maintenance risk. If you need support and notarized builds, buy a paid app.
Middle click is a separate market
WheelClick, The Mid Click, MidClick, Middle, and MiddleClick are not whole-surface apps. They solve the missing middle button for opening links in tabs, closing tabs, panning in CAD, or pasting in a terminal. Compare them on price, gesture options, Magic Mouse support, and maintenance. Do not buy a whole surface app just to get a middle click, and do not buy a middle-click app expecting per-app scenes.
What changed in 2026
- Edge-first apps became a category. Slidr established the paid edge slider; Haptiker and EdgeBar expanded it; Glisse and a wave of open-source clones made it free.
- MagicPrefs returned. The long-running free app was rewritten in Swift and relaunched as a paid app with a two-year license.
- Trill launched. Ready-made gesture sets, recorded gestures, haptics, a Hyper Key, and window snapping in one $29 app.
- TouchBridge launched at $2.90. A 48-gesture catalogue with per-app bindings and a checkout price that is easy to miss on the marketing page.
- Haptiker launched. Four edges, keyboard backlight, bottom-edge app switching, and a seven-day trial.
- Jitouch stayed frozen. Still free, still useful for character gestures, still Intel-only in its official build.
- BetterTouchTool, Multitouch, and Swish kept shipping. The incumbents are not standing still.
How to choose
- Maximum automation: BetterTouchTool.
- Deep gestures plus Magic Mouse and Rectangle Pro: Multitouch.
- Windows only: Swish.
- Edges only: Slidr, Haptiker, EdgeBar, or Glisse.
- Whole-surface scenes: TrackStudio.
- Free and simple: Glisse, StrokeMouse, Tapestry, or Jitouch.
- Middle click only: WheelClick, The Mid Click, MidClick, or Middle.
- Windows Boot Camp: Trackpad++.
Methodology and limitations
We checked each vendor’s public page on November 2, 2026 for price, trial, macOS requirement, and product status. We did not install every app for this version. Feature claims are from vendor pages unless a comparison page says otherwise. Prices exclude taxes and regional variation. The market changes monthly; confirm before buying. We make TrackStudio, and we did not rank it first.
Questions
How much do Mac trackpad apps cost?
Prices range from free to about $30 one-time. Several paid apps sit between $4.99 and $16. A few cost more because they bundle window management, scripting, or a larger automation platform.
Are there free Mac trackpad apps?
Yes. Jitouch, StrokeMouse, Tapestry, Glisse, HaptiTrack, EdgeControl, EdgePad, Sleight, and MiddleClick are free or open source. Some are unsigned or not notarized, and support varies.
Which Mac trackpad app has the most features?
BetterTouchTool has the widest automation surface, including gestures, keyboard and mouse remapping, scripting, window snapping, and Stream Deck support. Multitouch and Mactomator are also broad. TrackStudio is narrower and focuses on the visual trackpad surface.
Which app is best for edge controls?
Slidr is the most established paid edge-only app. Haptiker adds keyboard backlight and bottom-edge app switching. EdgeBar is a cheaper edge + media option. Glisse is the best free starting point.
Do any Mac trackpad apps support haptics?
Yes. TrackStudio, Trill, Haptiker, HaptiTrack, Glisse, EdgeBar, Slidr, and GestureCraft use haptics in some form. The implementation and vocabulary differ, so test the feel before buying.
What macOS do I need?
It depends on the app. Most current apps require macOS 13 or later; several require macOS 14 or 15. Jitouch has an older Intel-only build. Check the vendor page before buying.
Want the whole surface, not just the edges?
TrackStudio maps edges, corners, custom areas, center gestures, and per-app scenes to the app in front of you. One purchase, no subscription.
See TrackStudio — ₹499Sources
- BetterTouchTool pricing
- Multitouch
- Swish
- GestureCraft
- Curflow
- Trill
- Mactomator
- thePadToo
- MagicPrefs
- TouchBridge
- Slidr
- Haptiker
- EdgeBar
- Glisse
- HaptiTrack
- EdgeControl
- EdgePad
- Sleight
- StrokeMouse
- Tapestry
- Jitouch
- WheelClick
- The Mid Click
- MidClick
- Middle
- MiddleClick
- CoolTouch
- Trackpad++
- TrackStudio
Pricing and features checked November 2, 2026. Vendor pages change; confirm before buying.